THE 70 MM

The aura of Cinema can  take  you  on a roller-coaster ride. In a span 2 to 3 hrs a whole story unfolds in front of us. You don’t need a reason to watch a movie, the  movies them self  have so much to offer  that you take time  to go a theatre close by. Some movies like Bhag milka bhag or swades are inspired from lives of extraordinary people on  the other hand some movies  inspire a person’s  wardrobe or travel destinations.

My topic for the day”  The 70 mm” is  not  a tribute to Indian  cinema nor is it about the business opportunities from the billion dollar baby.  It’s  rather about my life and how movies played a part in it.

I fell in love with the movies when I  first watched Dilwale Dulhanya le jayenge on the 70 mm screen .Though I did not understand a word, my eyes loved what they saw.

In my growing up years , I was  the  frog in the well. My well was of 3  km  Radius.  Similar to the trait of a frog I retaliated to the changes in my surroundings but we all know my friend “ Change is inevitable” . With a dawn of a new academic year Hindi was introduced at school  but  nobody in my small little world spoke the language . Whenever my teacher stepped on the dais, it sounded like she was Sonia Gandhi’s long lost cousin. The scene back home was no different, my family would dance to the peppy nos like chura ke  peeche kya hai and nimbooda nimbooda but the moment I ask the meaning of the lyrics of these songs, I would have a feeling of asking them a viva question. When my desperate attempts to learn Hindi failed  movies came for my rescue. They not only taught me a new language they even showed a way how learning could be made enjoyable and fun.

I was brought up in a protective family of 4 brothers  but it was my paternal aunt calling her shots in our  lives. One fine day while I was watching television  she came to me and asked.” Where did u and  Asha go everyday? I saw you both leaving the house  dressed like colorful butterflies”  To which I promptly answered “ Mami, Mlore  has got its first multiplex  called the ADLABS .We went to watch a movie there” . She throws her  bomberang  of words back at me , “Can’t you find people your own age .Nisha is 15yrs older than u?” Having developed the art to answering   her questions  I replied “What has age got to do with watching a movie ? If you wanted I could take you to the multiplex too” . Surprising she said yes!! That’s when I saw jane tu ya jane na. She thought it was really sweet of me to take her  to a new generation love story. .From that day onward she did not stop bombarding me with her questions however her question were pleasant.

“A Nomad” that’s what my friends called me when I worked for a start up company, Had numerous adventures  and quite a few travel mishaps  The one worth mentioning  goes like this,I had to travel from Laxmeshwar in Gadag district to Bangalore. The travel itinerary was simple Laxmeshwar to Hubli via road and Hubli to Blangalore via train. Unfortunately I could not reach the railway station on time.

Those of you have travelled to north Karnataka would agree the transport options are minimum in that part of the state. Since I had to reach Bangalore by next morning I was bond to take the  bus.  It took me a good  5 hrs To travel 150 kms and reach Davangere. For a person like me who takes 1 hr to travel 60 knms , all thanks to the buses that fly between Mangalore  and Udupi this was snail speed. To add pace to my journey  I  got  down from this particular bus, there was a  Multiaxle bus departing at  11:30 PM . Having no clue of the place I was stuck in and  with a good 4 hours  in hand  I went to watch a movie. I tortured myself watching Tees maar khan however I had a comfortable and safe journey till Bangalore.

Of late the movie industry  has taken a lot of criticism for misleading  our society. When we are not ready to take” free advices” from our acquaintances. How could we blame a medium of communications for our wrong doings? For me the movies have been a teacher, a friend in disguise, a savior, bought me closer to people. Whenever I feel low or feel the need of  a change I go and watch a movie . It does not matter if the hero does not die after he is beaten by an army of villains or how everybody on the streets s knows to  steps of the song when the music is being played. These movies are just a get away and cannot take away my right of making a decision  or my share of blame . After all its my life and I am the actor, director and writer of this movie!

Leave a Reply

